A Word on Parental Advisory

One of the reasons I started blogging about books and movies is not just because I enjoy reading the latest bestseller and watching blockbuster hits, but I’ve also noticed a slow uptick in the inclusion of topics and values that parents like myself may or may not appreciate having children read. With my kids reading more independently now, there is a greater impetus for me to really pay attention to what children are reading nowadays.

By children, I consider anyone who is under the age of reason.

Parents often rely on badges like Newberry Award Winner or National Book Award or endorsements from social cataloging websites (like Goodreads), media outlets (like the New York Times) and celebrity book clubs (like Oprah’s Book Club) with the false assurance that these books are “must-reads”. A few websites also do reviews with the parents in mind, however, I have disagreed with some of their ideas on what is considered appropriate and what is not.

As I continue to read more, I see a steady rise in topics discussed in books that are non-traditional and not age-appropriate especially in the Young Adult (YA) category. Even the classification, which was only introduced in 2009, shows that the publishing industry as a whole is moving adult topics to a younger age group (12-18 years of age). I do not believe some 15 year-olds (let alone some 12 year-olds) should be reading some of the books listed in this category…and perhaps you are one of these parents, too.

In tandem with this, Middle-Grade books (for 8-12 year-olds) also start introducing topics that may be considered “liberal” and “taboo” just a few years ago. Some books may have a minor character who is classified as one of the letter gender identities or the book may include characters making a reference to sex which I feel is something that a parent needs to discuss with their own children rather than finding out through the pages of a book with the author’s (or the publisher’s) stance on this.

As such, I decided to put a Parental Advisory note at the bottom of my reviews from here on out because it gives a quick snapshot on what may be found in the book.

Just because the books may have these “warning labels” doesn’t mean that the book is badly written or that the story is not interesting. But it does give the parents the option to decide whether they will let their children read the book or not.

Personally, I enjoy reading the stories I read (unless otherwise indicated)–as an adult. But I can’t imagine reading about such topics at a young age without the proper discernment and guidance. Granted, children nowadays are much more aware of these things, but it’s almost as if it’s by design. The sexualization of children is being started earlier and earlier, and if one were to look at the big picture, you would almost think that all sectors are involved in the grooming of children: from Disney shows to children’s book publishers to the public schools’ sex ed classes and librarians’ book recommendations.

Parent vigilance is required more than ever before. Though we cannot control everything, we can and should still have authority over our own children. Our rights as parents is under attack more than ever–subtly and, sometimes, even directly. You don’t have to agree with everything I have to say or you don’t even have to agree with my reviews, but that is the nice thing about being in a free country… we can agree to disagree.

2 responses to “A Word on Parental Advisory”

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started