Grown Ups Section

How many times have we been stumped by cooking terms as we try to follow a recipe or we’re met with an ambiguous statement like “cook until done”? You know that spells disaster as you can end up with something overcooked or undercooked. 


Thankfully, there’s the Pioneer Woman. I don’t cook with a TV in front of me, but I can cook with a book in front of me. I can cook if there are step-by-step pictures showing me exactly how something should look so I’ll know if I am doing the right thing.

Chow mein recipe from Ree Drummond’s cookbooks. I added the shrimp for protein.


I love her step-by-step photo instructions for her recipes. With these, I can compare what’s in my pan to the pictures in her books. 

Another thing that I like is that she will say how long something takes to cook. This eliminates the  “cook till done” conundrum and you can whip out the old handy-dandy timer to make sure you’re cooking according to specifications.

Pioneer Woman cookbooks

Some of our favorite recipes come from her books. Of all her cookbooks, I refer to her Come and Get It! and Dinnertime editions the most. We love the slow cooker recipes, the stir-fry vegetables, chow mein, as well as the beautiful roasted vegetables recipes. 

I’ve tried a gazillion cookbooks. Others were just too wordy or just too vague. In this case, the Pioneer Woman’s are just right for this by-the-book cook!


If you haven’t heard, her new cookbook is out. Check them out here.


Any purchases made through my site will help with the costs of maintaining The Mama Travels website. Thank you in advance!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started